Monday, Monday! Feeling good.

Happy Monday. It’s almost over, but I am going to catch up on the last couple of days. I am watching the television show the biggest loser right now, and super excited to get this week started. How about you?

Watching the biggest loser is just another one of the tools in my box. I have so many snippets from here, there and everywhere: books, TV shows, quotes, pictures, audio shows, from almost anywhere you can think of. I use little tools every day from so many different places to get me through, sometimes minute to minute.

Here is just one of them:

Sunday was uneventful. I did what I was supposed to do, more importantly, I got to get a good peaceful nights sleep. That is so important.

I chose to take Sunday as my off day because I realized that I did a lot of muscle work anyway. Here’s what happened. I have a 25 pound toddler, and I live on the second floor. Over the course of the day, I went upstairs and downstairs with her in my arms or on my neck, a total of 22 times.

I worked, we went to three different grocery stores, we did laundry, we checked the mail, we dried laundry, we went back down to retrieve laundry, came back up to fold said laundry! 🙂 You see where I’m going!

I cleaned the kitchen, vacuumed the floors, prepared salads in a jar for the week, and played in the floor with the toddler. Yeah, so Sunday was my day “off”.

I feel a tiny bit guilty for taking the day off. Although I know I’m supposed to have one to recover.

This morning is my 11th day on my journey. I hate saying journey, it’s so cliché, everyone says journey, so what am I supposed to call it? I’ll come up with something artsy fartsy soon. Or you can help me?

I started with a nutri blend. Spinach, a banana, seven walnuts, an apple, and the best part of all making it my own version of Ben and Jerry’s chunky monkey: 2 tablespoons of organic Cacao powder.

20130311-195702.jpg

Oh! Before I forget, although I know better, I was so tempted to get a bag full of these while they were still 0 cal! Wishful thinking.

20130311-195758.jpg

I am really still loving the salad in a jar idea. Here is what mine look like, nothing extraordinary, but I’m super excited about the ease and saving money and time. I will venture into making my own salad dressing next week. Any good recipes? I am going along the lines of the vinegar-based, olive oil style dressings.

20130311-200119.jpg

I had one of those today. My hand held vacuum works wonderfully. I didn’t have electrical tape, so I used regular packing tape. It works just as well. Tip: if you do buy a handheld, make sure to charge it for eight hours before using it or it will die on you.

I am going to do the weightlifting portion of power 90 today, and I’m going to get through the 200 set of abdominal work from power 90. For some reason my abs are big, but they are strong, and the 100 just doesn’t do it. I guess that’s a good thing!

My teenager is an inspiration as well today. She did her cheat meal yesterday, and today got right back on the horse! She lost 3 pounds last week. And has been in the gym several times last week. She has completely changed her eating habits. She had a great egg white breakfast with a side of turkey bacon and a whole-grain pancake. Oh, and orange juice. That’s pretty good for a 19-year-old.

Having a future naval officer boyfriend to work out with isn’t too shabby either. Today I was told he “kicked her ass”. As long as it’s in the gym, I’m a-Okwith that! Right on!

So, I will continue listening to my inside out weight loss program. I will read a little bit in my skinny bitches book. And I will see you tomorrow!

One more “oh yeah”, look what I’ve done – my sister across the country on the East Coast is also kicking her exercise program and eating right program in gear. I have one more friend onboard from California, and I’m looking for one more over on the East Coast. Miss CM, you know who you are 😉 Who inspires you, or who have you inspired?

20130311-202615.jpg

About Violet

I am a dreadlocked mom of a teen and a tot, originally from the east coast, now living in the really hot- most of the time- desert. I am a "used to be" story. I used to be happy, a cyclist, a 100lb loser, a 30-something, a practicing Buddhist, and an all aorund smart ass and go getter. I gained 70 pounds back, my knee issues caught up with me, I relished in fast food, stress, lost my enthusiasm, and became jaded. I hated everything. Grump, grump. Well... I woke up from this coma and decided to take control and share that journey with you. So, here's to my next 40 years... come along, and feel free to dish it and keep me in check. I can take it! :)

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

