Down but not out…

Biggest enemy in this war? The insurgent- STRESS. For me, it comes on the form of a person I live with. Soon will be moving away from. But said person definitely adds to my stress load to the point where it makes my will lower crumble, and seems to annihilate all the weapons in my arsenal.

This person won. Was on my side in this war, but fell off hard, and I allowed to go with. Not to put all the blame on the enemy, but it’s quite strong. It’s also difficult when I have no support.

This person is my pusher. Misery loves company. Take a break. You’ve worked so hard, now reward yourself. It’s just one slice, get back on tomorrow. We’ll start on the first.

I get sucked into this, and all the junk food that starts to creep up into the pantry.

**** Medic!!!!! ****

So instead of letting this go for another year, I am self-correcting โ€“ and getting back on board myself. I’ve done a little bit of research, and I found how to say no to your pusher man.

http://www.carolinejhingory.com/the-food-pusher-man-how-to-say-no/

I am making small changes, slowly getting rid of the junk food that has taken over the refrigerator, freezer, and cabinets. Changed my mental track, and I started riding my bike to de- stress at the end of the day. Music is also a great de-stressor for me.

Ambient, tribal, electronica. Makes me feel good. No references. Just pure music, sound, flow. Deep Forrest and Bonobo are my fave go to artists lately.

So, I will weigh Monday. I prefer Mondays. Keeps me straight during the weekends! Instead of a “cheat” day, I will have a “treat” day. A day I will have ONE treat and then back on program.

I have been eating too much fast food. And I feel it. My guts are bloated, I’m perpetually tired, skin is erupting. Been sick- immunity down, and body is just out of whack.

I recognize this, and I’m picking up the pieces, and pushing forward. Lost one battle, didn’t lose the war.

Need more feedback. Any and all comments are wonderful. I’m always better when I know I’m being watched. ๐Ÿ™‚ kind of like big brother keeps me accountable.

See u Monday. Cleaning today, groceries tomorrow. Weighing Monday. Posting Monday.

How do you face stress? What brings you back? Motivators?

About Violet

I am a dreadlocked mom of a teen and a tot, originally from the east coast, now living in the really hot- most of the time- desert. I am a "used to be" story. I used to be happy, a cyclist, a 100lb loser, a 30-something, a practicing Buddhist, and an all aorund smart ass and go getter. I gained 70 pounds back, my knee issues caught up with me, I relished in fast food, stress, lost my enthusiasm, and became jaded. I hated everything. Grump, grump. Well... I woke up from this coma and decided to take control and share that journey with you. So, here's to my next 40 years... come along, and feel free to dish it and keep me in check. I can take it! :)

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good for you. My husband is a DREADFUL food pusher, so I can relate! He brings me food all evening; my favourite stuff so I can’t resist. Consequently I am very overweight. Following your blog with interest, you inspire me to keep trying!

    • Thank you Mona for following!

      What do you say/do when hubby comes around with the goodies?

      Just tonight- mine brought me a tray of RICE KRISPY TREATS!!!! what!?! Day 1? Wow.

      I took a bite, said they were good, said thanks, and I will have one tomorrow, I’m stuffed.

      Have you evernsaid anything? In my household it would be seen as being ungrateful. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Keep up the fight. Stay strong!!! Thanks for posting.

  2. hey i support you!( i actually yell at you when you need to get back on track haha…sorry. o.o)

    anyway, GOOD. just say no. better yet, just say one. one treat on treat day and then back on track. remember how it was when i was in seventh grade and we were eating WHOLLY organic, and we’d eat a snickers and it was literally THE nastiest thing in the world?! do it long enough and you won’t WANT to get off track. ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

